Server Side Recording

What is Server Side Recording?

How to record a session

How To Access, Share, and View A Recording

Set Recording To Start and Stop Automatically

Breakout Room Recordings

Recording Viewing Options

 

 


What is Server Side Recording?

Server Side Recording (SSR) is a remote, cloud based system which records specific session activities.

Server Side Recording Policy - For optimal SSR performance, you should limit your recordings to 2 hours in duration. For sessions longer than 2 hours, you should stop the recording and start a new recording.

Important Note: Failure to limit the length of your recording may result in issues with converting properly. It will render with an error upon attempting to play or downloading the recording.

 


Recording Format?

WebM - This is an open media file format designed for the web. WebM files consist of video streams compressed with the VP8 or VP9 video codec, audio streams compressed with the Vorbis or Opus audio codecs, and WebVTT text tracks.

WEBM files can be simply played in Chrome/Firefox. No plugins, extensions, downloads, or installs are needed.

 


What’s Included in Server Recording?

  • Pane 1: All web cams (one or multiple – filmstrip or grid view
  • Pane 1: Video Streaming, Prerecord Video and Audio files
  • Pane 1: All Audio
  • Pane 2: Presentations with special effects such as animations, transitions, .gif, and web links. Along with annotation
  • Pane 2: Documents & Annotation
  • Pane 2: Screen Share
    • Please note: In order for the screen to be captured full size, the Presenter recording will want to maximize Pane 2 and minimize the right side bar PRIOR TO starting the recording
  • Pane 3: Noteboard
  • Pane 3: Image
  • Pane 4: Whiteboard
  • Right Side Bar: Attendee Window, Text Chat, and Attachments

 

 


How to Record a Session

1. In the Presenter Toolbar, click the Record button.

start_recording.png

 

2. Give the recording a name and click Start.

name_recording.png

 

3. Wait for recording to start. You will see an initializing message and a countdown in the record button.

recording_countdown.png

 

4. Once the recording has started, a notification will pop up and the button will turn green.

recording_in_progress.png

 

5. To stop, click the green Record button and choose Yes.

stop_recording.png

 

6. A notification will pop up once the recording has stopped.

recording_stopped_notif.png

 

Note: Because we must copy the file from the recording machine over to the session server and depending on the size of the recording, it could take several minutes for the recording to be ready to view, share, or download.

 

Can I pause my recording?

No.  If you stop the recording, it will process and to begin recording again you will need to create a new recording in the session.

 

What happens if I hand the session over to another Presenter?

If you hand the session over to another Presenter, the recording continues to record.

 

Where is my recording stored?

The recording is stored on Jigsaw’s file server in the cloud and can easily be shared with those who have been invited to your session.

 

How To Access, Share, and View A Recording

1. From the Home page, go to the Recorded Sessions tab.
(Note, this tab only shows if you have recorded a session or a recorded session has been shared with you.)

recorded_session_tab.png

 

2. From here you can see all of your recorded sessions.

recorded_sessions.png

 

3. You can watch the recording or download it directly.

watchnow_download.png

 

4. To edit the Recording title, hover over it and click the pencil icon.

edit_recording_title.png

 

5. To delete the recording, click the Delete button.

delete_recording.png

 

Sharing a Recorded session

Before you can share a recording, you will have to set up how you are sharing it and with who.

share_recording.png

 

Allow Streaming By and Allow Download By give attendees and presenters access to the Watch Now and Download buttons in their Jigsaw Recorded Sessions tab.

allow_share_and_download.png

 

Link to recording allows you to create a link that you can distribute via email or other distribution methods.

link_to_recording.png

 

You can also individually choose participants to allow the option to stream or download.

addl_share.png

 

 


Set Recording To Start and Stop Automatically

From the Session Settings page choose Auto Start and End Recording. This starts the recording when the first Presenter enters and stops the recording when the last Presenter exits the session. This cannot be stopped manually at any time during the session.

auto_start_end_recording.png

 

 


 

Breakout Room Recordings

Breakout Room recordings also appear under Recorded Sessions. There are two ways to record in a breakout room.

 

1. The room can be set to auto record when setting up the room.

record_bor.png

 

2. If the Host moves into the Breakout Room they can manually start the recording using the record button.

start_recording.png

 

3. The recording is titled {Session name} - {Breakout room name}. Please note that the recording will not begin to process until the breakout room is closed.

bor_recording.png

 

 


Recording Viewing Options

When viewing the recordings, there are several options available on the Server Side Recording screen.

SSR.jpg

 

 

 


Additional Recordings

Located at the top middle of the Recording screen, there are three vertical lines.  By clicking this menu, a list of available recordings will appear at the top of the screen for the viewer related to that session.  In order to see this list, viewers must be logged into their Jigsaw account AND have permissions to view the recordings.

MoreRecordings.jpg

 

 


Full Screen Mode

While viewing the recording, the viewer does have the option to view the screen in Full Screen mode.  This will increase the view to the size of the monitor the viewer is using.

 

 


Picture-in-Picture

The recording does have a Picture-in-Picture option to allow the viewer to have a miniature view of the recording in the corner of their monitor. 

Option.jpg

PIP.jpg

 

 


Watch Time Limit

When clicking "Watch Now" on the Recorded screen of your account, you will be able to watch recordings that you have attended or conducted.  When watching these recordings, there is a 2-Hour time limit to those links.

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful